The Treaty of Waitangi

Te Tiriti o Waitangi / the Treaty of Waitangi is New Zealand's founding document.

As public servants, we act for the public on behalf of the Crown. When administering legislation we must act in accordance with the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi (Te Tiriti o Waitangi) that underpin the relationship between Māori and the Crown.

These principles include Partnership, Active Protection and Redress.

Section 4 of the Crown Minerals Act codifies this requirement by stating that all persons exercising functions and powers under this Act shall have regard to the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi.

The Minerals Programmes provide requirements about how and when we consult with Māori.

Learn more about the Treaty of Waitangi on the New Zealand history site.

Last updated:
Find this helpful? Give us your feedback