2018 production figures

As at the end of 2018 there were 18 producing coal mines in New Zealand.

CoalfieldMineOperatorRankTypeProduction 2018 (tonnes)
Maramarua Kopuku BT Mining SB Opencast 175,536
Huntly O'Reilly's$ O'Reilly's Opencast SB Opencast 2,728
Rotowaro Awaroa BT Mining SB Opencast 800,818
West Coast
Buller Stockton BT Mining B Opencast 1,076,257
Reefton Reefton Operations Moore Mining SB Opencast 29,636
Reefton Boatmans* Boatmans Coal SB Opencast  
Garvey Creek Echo Francis Mining B Opencast 65,300
Inangahua Giles Creek Birchfield Coal SB Opencast 97,986
Inangahua Berlins Creek Heaphy Mining SB Opencast 22,100
Inangahua New Creek New Creek Mining SB Opencast 27,231
Greymouth Strongman Birchfield Coal B Opencast 50,124
Greymouth Rajah Roa Mining B Opencast 130,227
Charleston Charleston Charleston Coal SB Opencast 75
Canterbury Malvern Hills Bathurst Coal SB Opencast 118,315
Kaitangata Castle Hill* Kai Point Coal SB Opencast  
Ohai Takitimu# Bathurst Coal SB Opencast 185,040
Ohai Wairakei New Vale & Ohai Coal SB Opencast 35,000
Waimumu New Vale^ New Vale & Ohai Coal L Opencast 144,656
Ashers Waituna* Sinclair Contracting L Opencast  

$ O’Reilly’s closed in 2018

* Production currently suspended

# Mixture of Crown owned and private coal. Only Crown owned coal production presented

^ The New Vale licence expired in 2018. Now producing private coal, production is confidential

SB – Sub Bituminous

B – Bituminous

L – Lignite

Last updated:
Find this helpful? Give us your feedback