2020 production figures

As at the end of 2020 there were 18 operating coal mines in New Zealand.

Coalfield Mine Operator Rank Type Production 2020 (tonnes)
Maramarua Kopuku BT Mining SB Opencast 239,390
Rotowaro Awaroa BT Mining SB Opencast 507,546
West Coast
Buller Stockton BT Mining B Opencast 879,746
Buller Escarpment$ Buller Coal B Opencast 1,278
Reefton Reefton Operations Moore Mining SB Opencast 37,519
Reefton Boatmans* Boatmans Coal SB Opencast  
Garvey Creek Echo Francis Mining B Opencast 60,377
Inangahua Giles Creek Birchfield Coal SB Opencast 159,772
Inangahua Berlins Creek Heaphy Mining SB Opencast 7,696
Inangahua New Creek New Creek Mining SB Opencast 0
Greymouth Strongman Birchfield Coal B Opencast 30,839
Greymouth Rajah Roa Mining B Opencast 171,893
Charleston Charleston Charleston Coal SB Opencast 83
Canterbury Malvern Hills Bathurst Coal SB Opencast 95,559
Kaitangata Castle Hill* Kai Point Coal SB Opencast  
Ohai Takitimu# Bathurst Coal SB Opencast 167,280
Ohai Wairakei New Vale & Ohai Coal SB Opencast 32,863
Waimumu New Vale* New Vale & Ohai Coal L Opencast  
Ashers Waituna* Sinclair Contracting L Opencast  

Production obtained from stockpiles or from former stockpiles as part of rehabilitation

Private coal operation

Mixture of Crown owned and private coal. Only Crown owned coal production presented

SB – Sub Bituminous

B – Bituminous

L – Lignite

Last updated:
Find this helpful? Give us your feedback