2021 production figures

As at the end of 2021 there were 15 operating coal mines in New Zealand.

Coalfield Mine Operator Rank Type Production 2021 (tonnes)
Maramarua Kopuku BT Mining SB Opencast 278,631
Rotowaro Awaroa BT Mining SB Opencast 462,289
West Coast
Buller Stockton BT Mining B Opencast 984,951
Buller Escarpment$ Buller Coal B Opencast 1,264
Reefton Reefton Operations Moore Mining SB Opencast 43,684
Reefton Boatmans* Boatmans Coal SB Opencast  
Garvey Creek Echo Francis Mining B Opencast 68,767
Inangahua Giles Creek Birchfield Coal SB Opencast 204,700
Inangahua Berlins Creek Heaphy Mining SB Opencast 6,520
Inangahua New Creek New Creek Mining SB Opencast 12,919
Greymouth Strongman Birchfield Coal B Opencast 55,658
Greymouth Rajah Roa Mining B Opencast 149,359
Charleston Charleston Charleston Coal SB Opencast 104
Canterbury Malvern Hills Bathurst Coal SB Opencast 50,278
Kaitangata Castle Hill* Kai Point Coal SB Opencast  
Ohai Takitimu# Bathurst Coal SB Opencast 214,695
Ohai Wairakei New Vale & Ohai Coal SB Opencast 23,546
Waimumu New Vale* New Vale & Ohai Coal L Opencast  
Ashers Waituna* Sinclair Contracting L Opencast  

Production obtained from stockpiles or from former stockpiles as part of rehabilitation

Private coal operation

Mixture of Crown owned and private coal. Only Crown owned coal production presented

SB – Sub Bituminous

B – Bituminous

L – Lignite

Last updated:
Find this helpful? Give us your feedback